Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

SPARKING CONNECTIONS: Environmental Human Rights Defenders: Resisting Destructive, Extractive Projects

November 17, 2020, 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm

Free

Latin America is a dangerous region in the world to defend land, Indigenous territory, and the environment.

In this workshop we will hear firsthand from two courageous women defenders, Maria Josefina Caal from Guatemala and Jani Silva from Colombia, about important struggles to protect the environment, rights, and life itself in the face of resource extraction projects with destructive consequences for water that communities depend on.

Our goal is to spark understanding and connections to strengthen our solidarity action.

Date: Tuesday November 17th

Time: 4pm pacific, 5pm mountain, 6pm central, 7pm eastern, 8pm atlantic, 8:30pm Newfoundland

Register for Sparking Connections HERE

Visit our website for schedule, speakers and more: https://www.aicanadagrassroots.ca

Details

Date:
November 17, 2020
Time:
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Cost:
Free